I did not want to run today.  I mean I really did not want to run..  Forget that I have not wanted to run in a long time and I have no idea why.  I know part of it is that my running partner moved.  Sara was not just a great friend but my go to for my long runs.  She runs my pace and we chat and it just makes me feel like I am not running as far as I am.  I hadn’t found that yet.  Don’t get me wrong I have some other great workout buddies (Dominique) but it isn’t the same sometimes.

Today though I pushed myself and did my scheduled 8 miles (which was a mistake since I haven’t run that far in a long time) but I did it.  I ran in an area I have never run in before.

12471645_10153913849751967_5128894043063662894_o

The boardwalk from Asbury Park to around Belmar.  4 miles out and back and the wind was awful but it felt so good.  My pace wasn’t great but for me it wasn’t bad either.  It just felt good to be back doing something I love to do and not feeling like I had to prove myself to anyone else around me.  I know running should always be about me and no one else but sometimes it is easy to get caught up in everyone else and who well they are doing.

Bottom line I miss Sara and I miss the time we got to spend together running and hanging out.  I know this will pass and I am ok with waiting it out.  In the meantime I focus on my strength training and on losing these last 20 or so pounds and we will go from there.