Today was the start of something new.  I was able to do a leg workout with minimal modifications. To say I was excited was an understatement.  While I could have slept in and found excuses to not get up at 4:30am and go do it, I did not.  I got up and went.  Here is the thing though I am scared.  I am scared of getting hurt again so I am being cautious about what I am doing and how I am doing it.

Today I started slow, nothing major.  Weighted calf raises (something the PT is very adamant that I do to get back to running),  leg press, goblet squats, sumo squats, walking lunges and wall sits.  Then 30 min on the elliptical.  Sounds like a lot but it really wasn’t. Total workout was about one hour.  I have been given the ok to “run” as long as I do intervals and I increase my speed and mileage very slowly.

I asked yesterday if I might be ready to run a half in April.  PT thinks it would be doable if I build back my mileage slowly over the next few months before I would have to start a training plan.  I am going to look for longer 8-12 week plans so that I can train effectively for this and not overdo it.  I am hoping to be able to do a 5K for Thanksgiving (haven’t really put that out there until now).  We shall see though I don’t want to push my luck.  I am resigned to the fact that the two races I have left for this year I will not be able to do.  They are in the next couple of weeks and my body is no way ready for that and doing it would just set me back even further.

For me this decision is huge as normally I would just push through and let the chips fall where they may no matter what the consequence.  How do you think I got to where I am today??

As far as the eating goes, it is good and bad.  I am sticking right around the 1200 calorie mark, yesterday I was under the day before over so it really is a back and forth.  When I do go over it is never by much.  I do notice though that eating less seems to effect how I feel in the am getting up and working out.  I am more lethargic and feel like I have less energy.  I am sure I will get over that soon enough.  The hope is that this will be short lived and that my body will start to realize I am not in maintenance and the weight will start coming off again.

So I feel like I am starting over, a newbie just getting started in the world of working out and eating healthier but I can do this.  I am not at the beginning and I have more knowledge then I did two years ago.

